Image
0

Isaac: My sensitive, loving little man

Isaac: My sensitive, loving little man

“A boy is Truth with dirt on its face
Beauty with a cut on its finger,
Wisdom with bubble gum in its hair
and the Hope of the future with a frog in its pocket.”

As you may have figured out, I’ve been doing a lot of self reflecting lately; Looking at the people around me and figuring out their meaning in my life and how to make my relationships with family and friends better.

Isaac is just such an amazing little man. I absolutely cannot believe that he has turned 4 and I have no idea how it happened. It just seems like I got so wrapped up in other things, that I didn’t notice that now I have a CHILD next to me! He’s no longer this chubby, drooling, infant/toddler that can barely speak. We have full conversations and for the life of me I can’t figure out how.

I’ve never met a little boy quite like Isaac. He’s just so curious about everything (as little boys should be) but he’s so different than the other little boys that I meet. Usually, they’re so rough and “Go-get-em” tough, but Isaac really cares about how his actions will affect others, and especially how others’ actions affect him.

For example, there are 4 little boys on my street, all around the same age. They all have similar yet different personalities. Two of them are the extra rough boys that just storm through everything head first, then there’s one that wants to do everything but if it’s done back to him he cries, and then there’s one that is super sweet until he gets tired (then he goes kinda crazy and starts hitting everyone). Isaac plays so well with them, but then when they start getting rough, he’ll leave and go play with the little girls.

He loves flowers, cute little animals, and sometimes I like to call him a mama’s boy. Not in the sense that he cries and comes running to me, but the fact that he is just so sensitive to everything around him. When people yell, he says “I don’t like it when you yell at each other, please stop.”

Don’t get me wrong he has his rough patches. He definitely has gained my attitude and we butt heads like there’s no tomorrow, and his mouth makes me want to scream. He’s started doing this kind of grunting squeal when he gets frustrated or wants to give me attitude, so he just gets put in time out the first time he talks back to me.

I’m so glad to call this little boy my son though. He has such a generous heart. He’s sensitive to everyone’s feelings. But most of all, he just loves everyone. He may say he doesn’t (because he’s tired or frustrated) but this little boy has so much love in him that he can’t help but make everyone smile and laugh.

Leave a Reply

