San Diego Safari Park

It has been too long since I have posted on here.  Mostly because I kept “thinking” about posting and not actually doing. Somehow I seem to find myself doing other things than blogging *sigh*.

So at the beginning of this month my family and I made the appx. 2 hour drive to San Diego Safari Park…with a 3 1/2 year old and 2 month old.  What were we thinking? I don’t know.  Breastfeeding mothers should just never leave the house.  Luckily I fed her just before we left AND pumped about 4 ounces in case screaming began for the drive home.

The place was really nice though!  Beautiful scenery, friendly staff, and the animals weren’t as hard to spot as I thought they would be.  The only problem for the day that we went: It was unforgivingly hot.  So my tips for the San Diego Safari Park:

  • Sun Block- Lots and LOTS of sun block.  There is a lot of shade, but there is also not a lot of shade, depending on where you’re walking.
  • Change of Clothes- There’s a tiny water splashing area for the kids to cool off in.  Its kinda dingy so if you have water shoes or something I would totally bring them.  My 3 1/2 year old had the most amazing time climbing up on the fake crocodiles and getting soaking wet. There’s also some palm trees that the adults can stand under, which I took complete advantage of.
  • Bring a stroller- Sometimes you can get by without a stroller, this time you can’t.  The park has many hills so children’s legs get very tired when you’re about halfway through.
  • Binoculars-If I had binoculars I would have brought them.  The tiger’s feeding area is really far away from the viewing, so you can just see a little tiny orange dot moving back and forth.   Also, the giraffes and rhinos don’t have their own exhibit and are in the actual safari part of the park so you may need them to see those specific animals.
  • Hats- For lack of shade again.
  • Food- I don’t know if it was a one time thing, but they didn’t even check my stroller to see if we brought any food.  Which we didn’t…but if we were to go next time we probably would lol. The food there is very expensive and has the quality of a cheap cafeteria
  • Water- The price for water bottles is outrageous and the park lets you bring water.  We brought a whole gallon for the three of us and ended up using all of it.
  • Spend the $4 for the nectar- There’s an area where you can feed Lorakeets this little tiny cup of Nectar, but it’s so worth it to see the kids excited to feed the birds.

Overall the visit was very nice but I think next time I would rather go to the actual zoo.

Image

Image

Image

Leave a comment